Lifechacha Logo

Gluten-Free Food List: Is Butter Gluten-Free

By Last Updated: November 16th, 2022Categories: Diet

If you have coeliac disease (AKA Wheat Intolerance, Gluten Allergy), you must not eat anything that contains gluten. Normally, food that is made of/from certain grains including wheat, rye, and barley contains gluten.

So, first of all, you should avoid ingesting any of these grains. Meanwhile, food producers will add some grain additives or season the food with some gluten flavors. This is also something you shouldn’t try.

In this article, to help you find out the food that you can eat, we will list a bunch of food that is gluten-free and you can ingest without worry.

Are Dairy Products like Butter, Milk, and Cheese Gluten-Free

According to research conducted by the University of Chicago, gluten is not found in the meat and milk of cattle fed with grains. So, in general, butter, milk, yogurt, and cheese are all gluten-free.

Is Butter/Milk/Cheese Gluten Free

But that doesn’t mean you can grab whatever butter, milk, and cheese from the shelf and pay for it. Modern dairy producers will add stuff that will cause you pain – the additives that contain gluten. So, you’d better buy plain butter, milk, and cheese instead of flavored products.

Tip:

Use different knives for cutting bread and butter for your family. If you use the same knife, the crumbs left on the knife will pollute the butter and give you bad feelings.

This applied to all tableware and cookware: Use different items for gluten-free and gluten food.

Do Beans Have Gluten

Plain and fresh beans are gluten-free originally. However, gluten may be attached to them during storage and transportation. They might be placed in a container that is used to store grains. The gluten left on it will pollute the beans. This means you need to get the gluten out before you can eat the beans.

  • Beams coming with skins on them will be perfect since you just need to peel them and then cook them directly.
  • When they come in peeled or split, you may steep them in water first, then boil them completely, and rinse them in tap water for a few seconds to remove the possible remaining gluten.

It takes some sweat, but at least, you can eat them without worries.

Are Beans Gluten Free

Be careful with all canned and pre-cooked beans as they may be cooked in wheat starch water without telling the customers. You may not ever find that in the ingredients list. And, of course, eating them will trigger some symptoms.

So, to avoid trouble, you’d better get all canned and cooked beans out of your diet list. Fresh and unpeeled beans are better.

Are Beans Gluten Free

Are Cereals and Granola (&Bar) Gluten-Free

NO, most cereals and granola we find on the market are not gluten-free. Either they contain mashed grain directly or apply wheat flour as a binder.

If you really don’t have time to cook something gluten-free in the morning, buy oats – plain oats without any flavoring or seasoning. Don’t look at the blends.

Also, for oat products, we can also find some that have the “Gluten-Free” label on the package. Find them and buy them.

Are Cereals and Granola (&Bar) Gluten-Free

Does Meat Have Gluten

As mentioned, the meat of cattle contains no gluten at all. You can buy any fresh and raw meat you like in the market or at butchers. It will be safe!

Don’t buy any precooked, seasoned, canned meat. They’re most likely polluted by starch (possibly wheat starch) to keep the meat juicy.

Tip: Why Should We Avoid Food Seasoned with Starch

Officially, wheat starch is an ingredient made from wheat grains through a gluten-removal process. However, modern technology CAN NOT get the gluten out 100%. This means, all the wheat starch we can find in the market contains gluten. Depending on the process of removal, the amount of gluten is different.

Though some producers claim that their products are seasoned with gluten-free wheat starch, we’d better not try them. Some patients with gluten energy cannot handle even 10 ppm (parts per million) of gluten.

Also, lunch meat, sausages, and hotdogs are forbidden too! Almost every one of them contains starch. Unless they claim themselves 100% pure meat and gluten-free. Otherwise, don’t even give them a look.

Does Meat Have Gluten

Are Gin & Whiskey Gluten-Free

All distilled alcohols are gluten-free even if they’re made from fermented grains like barley, wheat, and rye (gin and vodka, typically). The distilling will separate the alcohol from the fermented grains where the gluten stays.

However, there is this kind of flavored alcohol that may contain gluten, especially some liqueurs, flavored rums, and ouzo.

To warp up, you can drink whiskey (Irish, Rye, Scotch, & Bourbon) and Gin as you like. For others like rum, wine, brandy, and tequila that are made from fruits and plants, you can drink them safely.

Are Gin&Whiskey Gluten-Free

For non-distilled beverages, you need to pay more attention to the bottle you drink. Beer must be taken away from your bucket list. Wines are good.

Can I Still Eat Cookies, Pasta, Bread, or Pancakes

When we think about baked food, our first impression is always wheat.

For bakery stores and pizzerias, wheat flour is no doubt the best option.

  • It’s cheap and they can buy this everywhere.
  • Also, wheat flour has been the main material of bakery products for centuries. Receipts of wheat products are everywhere.

So, store owners can save some money and keep the tradition at the same time. Why not? However, as a customer who has coeliac disease, this benefit is not yours. Cookies, pasta, bread, pancakes, donuts, and any baked food that is made from wheat flour is a big NO to you.

Are Cookies, Pasta, Bread, or Pancakes Gluten-Free

If you really want to eat some cookies, paste, bread, or pancakes, you have two choices:

  • Find stores that don’t use wheat flour and any other gluten materials. Remember to ask them when you buy any.
  • Homebased baking is always better. Sorghum, oat, corn, buckwheat, almond, teff, brown rice, and arrowroot flour are all gluten-free alternatives to wheat flour.

Are Fast Food And Pre-cooked Food Safe for Coeliac Disease

Unfortunately, you have to say goodbye to fast food and pre-cooked food for your body’s sake.

Fast food including burgers, hotdogs, and sandwiches uses wheat bread directly. And any fried food like french fried, fish, chicken nuggets, or fried chicken,  is covered with starch paste and bread crumbles to give it a crunchy texture.

As for Indian and Chinese takeaways, I have to tell you that both cuisines are known for thickening with starch water. Sometimes, even the chiefs don’t know what starch they use, wheat, corn, or potato, it’s not their responsibility to know that.

Are Fast Food And Pre-cooked Food Safe for Coeliac Disease

For sushi, the vinegar and soy sauce they use can be pretty dangerous to you.

  • Quite a few vinegar are made from wheat and barley. And Japanese restaurants will add vinegar to the newly cooked rice to cool it down and season it.
  • Traditional soy sauces are fermented from soybeans and grains with a special mold. Different companies will use different grains for production, and wheat and barley may be involved.

Besides, ramen and pasta are mostly made from wheat flour. So, you need to say no to them as well. This is the same for instant noodles.

As for pre-cooked food, they may be marinated and seasoned with gluten spices, and sauces.

How to Eat Gluten-free At Restaurants

First of all, if possible, don’t go to any Chinese or Indian restaurant as they use starch water to thicken the dishes. If you have to go to any of them, ask what starch they use. If it’s wheat flour, ask them to use corn or potato starch instead, or don’t thicken the food.

  • Call the restaurants first for a menu or visit their FB homepage or official website.
  • Then, call again and ask them for all the ingredients and seasoning for the cuisine you’re about to order.
  • Emphasize and explain that you can’t ingest gluten.
  • Eat there when it’s not the busiest time and you will most likely be served with maximum patience.
  • Bring your own clean knife and chopping board and kindly ask the staff to process the ingredients with them.
  • Tell the waiter or waitress that don’t put wheat and barley ingredients and seasoning in your dishes.
  • Thank the staff again and tip them!

This might not help though. Most kitchens will prepare all the ingredients before they open every day.

FAQs

Does bacon have gluten in it?2022-10-25T05:54:59+00:00

The traditional and popular way of making bacon is through slating and smoking. While curing the meat, people tend to use salt, spices, and some other reasonings to give the meat special flavors. For most companies’ recipes, gluten seasonings are not included. That means most bacons we buy are safe to eat.

Is mayonnaise gluten-free?2022-10-25T05:44:09+00:00

In general, mayonnaise is gluten-free since it’s mostly made from eggs, oil, lemon, and some other spices. As you can see, all the ingredients listed here are gluten-free. So, most mayonnaise we find on the market is safe for people who have gluten allergies.

Still, there’s a chance that the mayonnaise producers will all some gluten additives to the products. So, before you put them into your cart, check the ingredient list.

Should gin be refrigerated?2022-10-17T06:31:15+00:00

Experts recommend keeping gin in the fridge if you’re expecting to drink them soon or if you don’t have any ice to keep them cool.

What is the life span of gins once opened?2022-10-17T07:26:57+00:00

After opening your gin, it is advisable to consume it for at least a year because the gin’s flavor will change over time or your gin goes bad.

2022-11-16T03:44:14+00:00